CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

SAFE!

Well, it isn't quite Baseball season, but as I have seen my first bumble bee for the season I thought it might be time to lay traps for the Yellow-jackets. Also known as ground-nesting bees, they are very territorial and aggressive. Last year I was stung four times. Now I know that is far from a world record, but before that the largest number of times I had been stung in a single year was...NEVER! So this year I have the traps out early as I know a couple of my neighbors have yellow-jackets and have done nothing about it. These traps don't attract bumble bees or mason bees and even if one did stumble in, she would not be getting back to the hive to tell anyone else so they wouldn't follow her to the trap.

As for the rest of the garden, many things are almost. The single shoot of a new hosta and the single leaf of a volunteer in another spot. The windflowers that have begun to spring out of the soil. the lonely daffodil that I don't recall planting but which is making a valiant effort to bloom. Weeding makes for boring blips and so does unmown grass. Even if the grass is brand-new where it wasn't last year. So this is today's blip and tomorrows will be different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.