My jolly ankle

I had to travel to Nelson hospital today to attend the fracture clinic for the Doctor to have a look at my foot. He didn't re-X-ray the foot, but looked at the x-ray I had taken on the 1st March. What I didn't realise is that I have completely snapped the bone - I thought that it was only fractured part way across.

The good news is that I can now walk on it (with my moon boot on) without crutches, and can take the boot off while sitting down and exercise the foot to get some movement back in it.

The bad news is that it's going to take another month to mend itself, and I can't drive until I'm no longer relying on the boot for support.

I thank my lucky stars that the bone is still aligned, and I haven't had any horrific pain.

You can see the break on my photo - it's at the bottom of the long thin bone. The X-Ray has been taken looking at the back of my heel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.