Millennium moments #1

Just about the last piece of cross stitch embroidery I managed to complete before the arthritis in my hands forced me to give up the hobby I enjoyed so much was a Millennium Sampler. This shows important dates and events from the previous 1000 years. I stitched the final part of it on 1st January 2000. These two sections feature the signing of the Magna Carta and the invention of Stephenson's 'Rocket'. The Magna Carta is considered the foundation of English common law from which grew the right of the freedom of the individual. The invention of Stephen's 'Rocket' changed the future for us all as it meant that for the first time large numbers of people were able to travel relatively easily and quickly on the railways. I'll show you other parts of the sampler over time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.