A Moomin welcome to Turku

I was up bright and early this morning to travel to Turku in Finland, where I will be working for the next few days. I travelled from Edinburgh to Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle, then on to Helsinki from Paris. The final leg of my journey was a short domestic flight to my destination, where I was welcomed by this giant Moomin. ("Unexpected Moomin in baggage area.")

I have to say that my experience in Paris was rather painful. Although in theory I had plenty of time to make my connection, this was all eaten up by a long ride from my incoming plane to the arrival terminal, poor signposting in arrivals (and actually throughout the whole airport), another bus ride, two separate trips through security, an additional passport control check, and then a load of unnecessary nonsense over the "liquid" content in my hand luggage which was eventually identified as two tiny pots of preserve in the gift pack of tea and oatcakes that I had bought in Edinburgh airport to present to my host here in Finland. I made it to the departure gate just as it was closing...

Exercise today: carrying a heavy suitcase up a staircase in Paris for an elderly Indian lady (which also contributed to the delay to reaching my gate).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.