Good neighbours

Yesterday I read Veronica's blip about cooking mejillones (mussels) and learning other languages, and it seemed we all coincided on how important it is to know other languages and how this widens your mind and your understanding of your own language vocabulary.
And sometimes it also makes it possible to have a good laugh.
I was just clearing papers away and found an old text of my arabic lessons of many years ago and its translation. It keeps making me smile. I hope you will smile too.
This is what the text says

And Yeha came to the neighbour's house and asked him for a pot to cook in it the head of a ram, and he lent it to him, and the next day Yeha gave him back the pot and in it there was another pot smaller than the other. And the nighbour was happy when he saw this and said, 'Why is there a pot inside my pot?' And said Yeha 'I don't know, I think she has given birth tonight'. And he placed both pots in his house. And after a month Yeha asked him for the pot and its daughter for cooking and the neighbour lent him the two of them. And after many days the neighbour came into Yeha's house and said 'I need what I lent you', and Yeha said 'What did you lend me?' and he said ' My pot and the pot she gave birth to' and Yeha answered 'May Allah have accepted them both; they are dead.'
And the neighbour said 'How can it be that a pot dies?'. And Yeha said 'Everything that is born, can die; and certainly we are here for Allah and towards him we are pilgrims.'
And he kept them both!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.