March Challenge: Day 12 ......

Rariora.

Plural noun meaning: Rare collector's items (such as books).

R and I are not much into antiques and do not have many so I was almost at a loss for what to do for today's challenge.

A quick Google search (from home before I left for work!) for rare books stores in the Bethlehem area netted a few hits. So, after work I headed toward one of them ~ The Old Library Bookshop.

When I stepped inside I was greeted by the lovely smell of old books! And by the proprietors of the shop ~ a lovely mother/daughter team, Margaret & Mary. When I explained that I was there on a photography mission they were more than happy to help me out with this challenge. I even asked if I could take their pictures and even though they were willing I only took several shots of these rare books.

Isn't this rariora of old Bibles fantastic. I don't know the exact publication dates of the Bibles, but the two small books on top of the Bibles on the left side of the photo are dated 1812 & 1847! On the shops website there is a listing for The Parallel Bible with a publication date of 1885 and I think it might be this one!

I will definitely have to go back to this wonderful shop when I have more time to really enjoy it! And if you are ever in Bethlehem be sure to check it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.