Rendezvous

I thought that meeting Philiphoto for coffee in Oxford might provide me with some sort of immunity from his eagle eye for strangers doing unfortunate things, but when I first spotted him at our rendezvous, his camera was pointed straight at me. He’s been merciful, however, and I’m not the subject of his blip today. We had a most enjoyable chat and a bit of a walk in Oxford before I had to race back to work. Cheers, Phil.

I was still blipless when I left work only just in time for my meeting with the roofer who was coming to inspect our slipped roof slates. The sun was out and low and I was itching to take the camera out but I didn’t dare leave the street. He didn’t turn up and didn’t turn up and when I finally phoned him – after the sun had set – he said he’d passed by much earlier in the afternoon and looked at the roof from the outside. The bit of roof that isn’t leaking. Grrr.

So here’s another very local picture. I read a photography book recently that was urging photographers not to stray too far from home in the search for pictures but to train the eye to find the new in what is nearby. A fine message, I thought, until I discovered that by ‘close to home’ he meant a radius of 25 miles. That gives him an exploring area about 600 times as large as mine and, I suspect, that of most blippers, which I reckon normally has a radius of no more than a mile. We’re good – we really are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.