Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Cultural Insensitivity

Spanish culture can be a bit rough. Expletives get dropped without a care or even a second thought. Name calling has also got no boundaries. Now, I can't say I'm offended by this image resembling someone of east Asian descent, but I can image some of my friends reacting negatively to this "yellow fat" picture. I've seen this graffiti elsewhere in the Malasaña area so it's not a surprise. Although, it's still catches my eye.

Jerica invited me to see a play at the Teatro Lara with her teacher and friends this evening and we got on the topic of Spanish insensitivity to different kinds of people. For example, it's okay for Spaniards to call people "gordo/a," "chino/a," etc. I've been called chino several times and I don't like it. You don't hear people saying "español" to Spanish people, so why is it okay to call someone who looks Asian, chino?

btw, the play we saw was called "Los miércoles no existen."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.