Sunbeams

By Saffi

Borage

This self-seeded plant has been growing steadily since the end of January. It is now in its prime but a bit early to mix its leaves into summer salads or its flowers into summer punches!

Heavy fog this morning and again this evening. T drove a trailer of oats all the way to Wessex Grain but they were rejected as some weevils were found - no good for milling! That means we will have to gas where they were stored in order to make sure the little creatures are all obliterated before next harvest. We will roll the oats for animal feed.

Later this afternoon a visit to the surgery since a rash has been slowly creeping up my arms! My own doctor booked up for a week they put me on the "acute" list. There is a computerised push button system to record one's arrival. At the end of putting in one's date of birth etc the name of the doctor appeared on the screen. Well this name was nothing like the name given to me when I telephoned so after two tries I resorted to informing the receptionist at her desk behind the glass barrier. In due course Dr A, about 6ft 6 and probably from West Africa, sorted me out and next stop was the pharmacy next door.

Oh, by the way the first cowslips are out on our lawn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.