Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

100 Strangers #8: Stuart

After a (too) long break I finally got back onto my 100 Strangers project today.

Appropriately, this was taken outside the National Portrait Gallery in London. I had an hour to kill between lunch and an afternoon meeting and was close enough to spend it there, checking out the David Bailey 'Stardust' exhibition.

Stuart was waiting outside, having a cigarette and checking his phone when I asked if I could take his photo. He said yeah, course mate. The way he said it made me ask him if he was Australian – his bemused response was: nah mate, I'm from Essex! After that faux pas I didn't dare make much more conversation, so I rattled off a few pics and sloped off...

Today's learning: don't make assumptions on people's accents until you're really quite sure you've guessed it right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.