Bonfire-moss

After a misty start, it was another fine spring day which tempted me out for a long afternoon walk along the river at Castor. Although it was pleasant walking along in the hazy sunshine, listening to the skylarks singing overhead, I wasn't really tempted to get my camera out.

When I got home I found these young capsules of the moss Funaria hygrometrica growing on some bare soil in a shady part of the garden. This is a very common species, and acquires it's common name, bonfire-moss, because it's particularly characteristic of old bonfire sites, favouring bare, nutrient-rich soils. It seems a fitting species to feature after yesterday's blip!

The egg-shaped leaves are translucent and have very large cells, easily seen with a hand lens. There are usually abundant capsules present, born on flexuous swan-neck setae, the classic form being demonstrated by the capsule in the foreground.

This morning I had a long chat with Chris and Lizzy via Skype, though unfortunately they had to turn their video off as there wasn't enough bandwith. At the moment they're back in Thailand, about to go trekking in the Chiang Mai national park. In four days they fly out to Borneo for the next leg of their adventure. They're staying there for a month, before heading on to Sulawesi. I'm very envious!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.