Jack James

By JackJames

Today started the same as every Thursday – peeling myself regretfully out of bed early before staring into space until the time comes to leave for my 9am lecture. All about the Antarctic today – and plenty of repetition from a course last semester, so not the most interesting or useful.
Had an essay hand-in at 12, and I’m trailing a new technique of writing them. I really threw myself at my studies last semester, getting essays done weeks in advance and planning the meticulously. Unfotunately, this didn’t see any improvement in my grades, and as such I’ve thought “well fuck that” and decided to take the last minute approach. Allows for much more outdoors activity, and we’ll see how the grades work themselves out.
After handing in the essay, I headed back home for a breakfast top-up before meeting up with classmate and friend since 1st year Holly. Holly defiantly doesn’t take the last minute approach, and as such I don’t get to see her as perhaps I might like, or not in a social setting at least! So we sat in Kilimanjaro for an hour or so and had a great catch up. Then I scooted to meet Jenny and the others at Elephant & Bagel, before deciding that I didn’t fancy one and getting a cheaper option with Marek. Sat in the square watching the skateboarders.
Thursdays are also like a mid-week break, and after handing in an essay I normally don’t do much work. Today was no exception, and I got on the bike and headed out towards Queensferry.
The cycle to Queensferry is one I take frequently, taking one along the seafront to Cramond, though the Dalmeny estate and on to Queensferry. The approach to Queensferry is particularly spectacular, overlooking both Fourth bridges and was today punctuated by a huge oil tanker unloading at the pipelines for Grangemouth.

I got off the bike, and took a walk along the shoreline, sinking into the sand and climbing over the rocks. Tonic to the city. Then on to stand under the rail bridge, before returning back the way I’d come. I ended up sitting on a log for a long while before heading back into the city for rush hour.

Take away curry for dinner, and round to James’ house to watch ‘Beasts of The Southern Wilds’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.