Honeystreet

My blip search on Friday took me slightly further afield as I wanted to photograph a landscape and had the Pewsey Downs in mind. However the light was wrong and there weren't suitable stopping places along the way. I ended up in Alton Priors, and wandered up to All Saints church. There was a splendid old yew tree in the churchyard which turned out to be 1,700 years old. I couldn't frame a landscape shot I liked, though, so instead headed for the Barge Inn beside the Kennet and Avon at Honeystreet.

I walked westwards along the towpath to Stanton Bridge. The path was so muddy in parts that I felt in danger of slipping into the canal, especially as my footwear had been chosen in anticipation of far superior walking conditions, but by now we were into the golden hour and I got some striking results.

I would have posted this last night but had PC/internet difficulties.

L.
14.3.2014

Blip #1204
Consecutive Blip #066
Day #1443

Alternatives:
Alton Priors Turnstile
Narrowboat And Bust
Canal Buddha (for Dritanje)
Sunset Ducks

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm, Pentax 55-300mm

Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Sunset series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Captain Beefheart - Old Fart At Play (recorded live, 18 November 1978, My Father's Place, Roslyn NY)
The album I'm Going To Do What I Wanna Do was recorded and mixed directly to two-track tape, and was made available by Rhino Records in 2000. The band were touring to promote the album Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller) when they played My Father's Place, which was located under a motorway bridge. It held about 200 people, who sat at long tables and could dine whilst they listened.
When I left Alton Priors, I plugged an MP3 player into the car system intending to charge it up for future playback. To my surprise the radio cut out and was replaced instantly by the sounds of the Captain performing Tropical Hot Dog Night from my MP3, and continued through the album, including this poetic gem.

One year ago: Mallard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.