My Dad

Enjoyed a rare morning walk with my lovely Dad this morning. Mum is usually very confused in the mornings, not knowing where she is or what she is supposed to do with tablets and insulin, so Dad has to keep a close eye on her.

However, this morning she seemed OK (probably a house full of getting-ready-for-school-and work noises is enough to wake anyone up quickly), so we left her for half an hour whilst we dog walked and caught up.

A new development of the advancing Alzheimers is that Mum has started to follow Dad around the house, where she had always been very happy without him before. I've also noticed that she very much relies on him to explain things and try and help her understand what is going on. He is a calm and patient man and she is very reassured by his presence.

I guess we all know that things are just going to get ever tougher, and especially for him.

xxxx

large

Late additional comment: In exciting news I just saw a notification that yesturday's blip hit the spotlight page - such as thing has never happened before and I can't fathom it, but am absolutely thrilled - thank you everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.