Street photography

Without a doubt, the best part of the last 365 days has been sweeping the streets looking for suitable and willing subjects.  The second best part has been gaining a virtual community of friends who comment and affirm the daily captures.  I have appreciated the discipline of making that daily single best photo choice, but have succumbed to Flickr with regularity to showcase the rest of the day or tell the story not possible in a single shot.

The numbers after 364 posts:  Roughly 87,000 views, one staff pick, one suspension [nothing ventured, nothing gained] and about 18 times in the spotlight [of which the one on [url=https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3257301]July 11/2013 [/url]was my favorite].   I have blipped body art around 60 times.

I have three wishes for Blip:  1) That they would be more forthcoming about the number of subscribers and/or average daily posts.  2)  That they could install a “like” button like Facebook so I could look at and appreciate an image without needing to comment to leave a record of my like (or alternately, make the awarding to stars non-anonymous), and 3) that they would be more transparent about the Spotlight algorithim.  The present approach seems too subjective and has lost meaning for me.  I also worry about how often I get a Blip message saying we are temporarily over capacity.

My artistic advisor gave me the best possible advice for being a street photographer:  Just show up!

I invited truckloads of celebrants and Coronas to join the party tonight.  Just show up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.