Doremigirl

By Doremigirl

Labor of Love

73 . 365

This week was LONG.
Not because I didn't like working, I just had more meetings than usual, which means I had things to prep. Thankfully, all went well :-)

Enough about my week!
Here's a true work of art that I am very proud of. There was this really old, unfixable baby grand in my classroom. It needed to be trashed - and I was torn. How could I dispose an instrument? It hurt me...
And then I saw these. Just maybe, I thought, Greg can do something about it. (Greg is all-around hard-working, maintenance man who can fix anything, and who happens to be a carpenter). He saw some pictures and said he'd be interested in working on something like it.

Fast forward a couple of months. From time to time, Greg would show me somethings.
Like how he cut all the piano strings (!); he donated them to our art department so that they can use them for future art works. And he'd show me how he took apart the keys, and cut out some notes and clefs. But it wasn't until last week when I saw most of this project finished.

Today was the unveiling of our newest bookshelf in our common area. Isn't it beautiful? He made the base of it with deep shelves so that it will be practical. These shelves will be filled with art and music books for all of the students.
This recycled and repurposed piano is here to serve our students today and tomorrow.

Thank you, Greg T! You truly are talented! Thank you for your work and dedication!

Ahhhhh~ it's a sweet start to the weekend. Happy Friday, people!

I almost forgot: today's music

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.