An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Birth

A brand new lacewing larva emerges from it's egg.

Challenging conditions – dark grey skies, strong winds and only fleeting sunshine made this hard to photograph. I went back outside just now with my ruler and reading glasses – these eggs are less than 1mm long (smaller than a pin head) and I couldn't see any larvae with my naked eye (even with glasses on). They may have wandered off of course. This little larva has a lot of growing to do.

Slightly bigger

Hoping for some rain this evening – I held off watering this morning, as the forecast gave a 90% chance of rain... I have just checked the BoM and we have had 34mm of rain this year so far. That's not very much... no wonder the plants all look so shrivelled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.