To the defence

What an interesting and enjoyable day!

In the UK PhD vivas are rather private affairs. Behind closed doors the candidate, an internal and an external examiner, and the examination chair meet to discuss the thesis. The candidate's supervisor is allowed to attend the examination, but only to observe.

In contrast the Finnish PhD defence is very much a public event. Today I played the role of "opponent" for a student at the Åbo Akademi University in Turku. The defence itself took place from 12:15 until 14:00 in front of an audience of about 50 people, including the candidate's family members. There was even a baby in attendance(!) She mewed from time to time in the back row of the auditorium. After the defence there was a university reception for everyone. Tea and a wonderful apple cake was served.

This evening the candidate followed tradition by hosting a dinner in the honour of the opponent, i.e. little old me. Others at the meal included the candidate's family, fellow PhD students, and colleagues from the University. The meal was fabulous. Indeed the first course of gravlax and beetroot is one of the most delicious starters that I have ever tasted. Between each course there were speeches from the candidate, her supervisor, and me.

There were lots of wonderful little moments throughout the day. I loved watching the pride of the candidate's parents as she gave her opening presentation at the start of the defence, and witnessing her friends line up to congratulate her afterwards. The audience was fascinated by my academic dress - they don't have gowns in Finland - so I enjoyed explaining the history of the gown at the start of my own presentation, immediately before I moved on to grilling questioning the candidate. Another great surprise for me was that someone who I had met at a conference back in 2011 travelled all the way from Helsinki to watch the defence, and to deliver to me a copy of his own PhD thesis. He explained that he followed up some of the recommendations that I made to him about his doctoral studies, and these had a great influence on his work. He wanted to thank me in person.

My blip is of the supervisor-student team of Professor Gunilla Widén and Maria Kronqvist-Berg. Gunilla is holding her doctoral hat. It is a tradition that the hat always sits at the front of the auditorium throughout the defence as a symbol of academic freedom. There's more about the hat here.

No exercise today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.