New London Velodrome

There was no blip from me yesterday, I think for only the second time in 423 days. If I’m going to be out late I usually post my blip before I go but today I wanted the subject of my late night to be the subject of my blip. So here I go with this back blipping business.

We went to see some cycling at the London Velodrome. This was the velodrome built for the Olympics and Paralympics in 2012 and this is the first time it’s been used as a venue since then. We have often seen track cycling but never at this venue. We usually travel up to Manchester.

The inside is very similar to the Manchester velodrome except it has an extra, higher tier of seating. The outside is an amazing design and has won several architectural awards. It was nicknamed the Pringle because of the shape of its roof which was put in place before the sides of the structure and really did look like a giant, floating Pringle. Now it’s finished it is actually an amazing looking building.

I couldn’t decide whether to post shots of the cycling inside or the beautiful building itself. The building won but you can see a couple of indoor shots here or on Igor's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.