SilverImages

By SilverImages

Hazy Shade of Winter

Time to make a start on the little project for the week. Have a site meeting in Abergavenny this afternoon to assess progress on site. Spend a couple of hours in the run-up to lunchtime familiarising myself with the projects and setting up spreadsheets to do the financial cross-checking.

There's been a change of timing, originally planned for the morning, the meeting is now in the afternoon, so an opportunity to meet up with A in Abergavenny afterwards. He's been to Brecon for a morning meeting so it's all coming together.

When I arrive at the site I find it's one that I've photographed before, after a T'ai Chi class last year - I wandered out and saw this lovely building in the sunshine and felt drawn to photograph it. I now find I'm doing a financial appraisal in connection with the building work. Interesting connection.

Business takes a couple of hours and then I'm free to meet up with A, in Emmelines for coffee and cake. Time for a catch-up, haven't met since early in the New Year so lots to tell. It already seems like a long year!

It's been a day of hazy sunshine at best, quite ethereal and ghostly images at times when I remember to notice it. As I'm driving back home from Abergavenny I'm struck by the incredible shifting "mists", creating sudden glimpses of spring countryside and then swallowing them up again as quickly as they appeared. The sun is dropping behind the ridgeway between Pontypool and Abergavenny, and as it sits above the skyline it's this pale orb in the sky, like the moon. Reminds me of the Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner, quite an other-worldly place as the veils of mist swirl and weave their merry dance around the sun, teasing glimpses of the light through the trees, leaching colour from the foreground so the world appears black [well grey] and white. I have to stop and grab some shots before the sun drops behind the ridge. It's a bit chilly in shirt sleeves, darting across the busy main road into the raised fields beyond to capture something of this glimpse of another world before it's swallowed in the dusk.

I'm not disappointed in my efforts, my shot for the week I think. And when I "process" the image there's not much to do to "make" my photo for the week. What else can there be after this? Not much....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.