CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Hippeastrum Amaryllis' anthers and stigma

Two out of the four flowers of the Hippeastrum Amaryllis had opened completely by this morning and I wanted to record the detail of the anthers and stigma of one flower.

I started with my 50D inside the house, then moved the whole plant just outside the back door, and set up my 5D camera on a tripod, in such a way that I hoped to catch some birds feeding in the background. They weren't that stupid sadly, so I might have got a better arrangement in a different position, particularly since the sun was shining quite strongly with only occasional thin cloud cover.

When such blousy flowers first open they are at their best and the colours and textures are at their crispest. That would still be the case if I had moved the Amaryllis back inside when I went to watch some rugby, then I would have avoided it being blown over and one of its yet to open flowers being removed.

I have put a few other pictures in my flickr gallery here, which show the flowers fully open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.