Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

I was lost, now I am found!

Today saw Hubby and I head off for a nice afternoon at Gunwharf quays and the Historic Dockyard. Its been many years since going to the Dockyard, so was looking forward to a little history. Only living over the water in Gosport, we don't often make the most of the surroundings around us. So had a coffee in Gunwharf and enjoyed the sunshine for a little while and then headed to the Dockyard. We visited the 'new' Mary Rose museum and I have to say its rather impressive. Changed a lot since I was a kid, no longer do you freeze to death because of the spraying of the wreak. But now its a impressive museum, not only is the ship wreak incredibly well preserved but also the most artefacts I have seen in a museum. The fact they have been able to recover items as small as lace ends, dice etc made me realise the amazing effort has gone into restoring the wreak and its many treasures. I did have a lot of trouble with lighting and camera shake today as I couldn't get my ISO up high enough, but I was really pleased with my effort. This skull is of an archer which was found along with weapons and his personal possessions. What amazed me was the scar on the side of his head and the poor shape this man was in.

All in all a very good day - enjoyed the sunshine and enjoyed some quality time with my husband.

This week in general has been a lot less stressful and as we head towards the Easter break my workload should reduce a little so that will help. Although I have my MA to do, the workload at school will reduce a little making life a little easier. I don't feel as panicky and my heart isn't racing so much. So feel loads better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.