Yet Another Poppy

By now you will have noticed that when it comes to poppies I'm a nutter. Can't help it. This poppy, along with the others around it, is growing in my vegetable garden. In the top right you can see my rockery, also invaded by poppies. They are looking a bit battered after yesterday's gales but today's misty drizzle is freshening them up.

Soon most of the poppies will be done and I will reclaim my vegetable garden and the rockery, and there will be other things to blip.


Meanwhile, back on the starling front- nests have been cleaned out and hanky-panky has been occurring on the lawn. I expect more noisy broods in time Christmas. It is a week since I saw the first lot of chicks, about a dozen of them all feeding together in the field. The various sets of parents came home to roost, but the chicks were kept away. I have no idea where they go, but there is plenty of open country for them.

The poppy looks good in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.