Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Lunch break

Another warm and sunny day here in Les Houches – temperatures rose to 16C on the mountain which had us all taking off layers of clothing. The snow turns quite soft by midday and after lunch it is hard work skiing through that slushy snow.

This morning the dads left early with a guide to ski the Vallée Blanche. It is a famous area comprising the Aiguille du Midi ridge which they have to walk across strapped to each other whilst carrying their skis before getting to the skiing area. A guide is necessary as one wrong step could be fatal – apparently someone died there last week and today their guide told them someone died yesterday. I am not sure if this is true or it is just the guides trying to ensure they get the business! They then ski the glacier bowl and slopes and at the end there is an arduous 20 minute walk back up the mountain in snow boots whilst carrying their skis. They all loved it but I am very pleased that I did not join them, as it was really tough going.

The mums skied with the boy’s ski coach and had a lovely day of skiing in the brilliant sunshine. I had a bad day camera-wise…I planned to take some fish eye lens shots from the top of the mountain but when I got up there I realised I had brought the wrong lens from home – I had my 50mm lens instead 9well, they are a similar size) so every landscape view from the mountain tops was taken with my 50mm which was limiting in the circumstances. And worst of all, I noticed that at the back of my camera, the plate that fits around the view finder is cracked and broken. How that happened I do not know, but when I get home it will have to go into Nikon for repairs.

The lack of wifi in this hotel is very frustrating. Being a school trip it is a budget hotel , so the food is dodgy and the hotel accommodation is very basic. And they offer free wifi which does not work. I cannot understand why in this day and age efficient wifi is not freely available in every hotel. I am able to upload this by using the reception wifi for a few minutes, but apologies once more as I cannot look at journals or reply to comments until I get home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.