LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Fixtures

I didn't ride the bike to work today. My bum is still sore and there is rain on the way. I did however attach the big heavy duty bike lock to the frame. Rather more fiddly than I expected. I was going to attach the saddle bag as well but it turns out that I didn't have an aln key at hand that was the right size to remove the rear reflector and it gets in the way of where the saddle bag should be.

Did some work on a piece of code that deals with the naming of files when saved. Basically if the filename given by the user does not match the pattern of having '.png' at the end then add '.png'. It seemed simple at first but as I got into the many potential things a user could try as the filename it strayed into some meaty regular expressions. I learnt quite a bit (I don't use regex very often but I love finding out about all of the intricacies of the pattern matching and replacing) and when I was told that I was covering 'edge cases' it turned out that was meant as a criticism rather than praise, which was strange. As anyone who programs to handle user input should know your code can never be too robust.

More coding at home in the evening, the Glasgow Future City project is gathering steam and a couple of extra hours a night should become the norm. quite soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.