Free The Mind

By SumK

Liberec

So I've been away skiing last week so I've got a fair few blips to upload. I quite like this one I very nearly posted an architecture related photo but the colour contrast between the rust, blue and white grabbed my eye. Anyway this is on a street in Liberec in the Czech Republic the second city of old Bohemia the area has changed hands more than its fair share of times. Being part of the Austrian empire until 1918, then forming part of Czechoslovakia until its annexation by Hitler (being a key city in the Sudetenland)- not surprising given the close proximity to Germany and the high percentage of ethnic Germans in the area. After the war it once again become part of Czechoslovakia until the break up of the eastern communist block and it's separation into the Czech Republic. All very interesting stuff! Also I have no clue why it is labelled both numbers 15 & 6 on the same doorway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.