just allan

By allan

Out Standing In Their Field

Gordon, Katie and our neighbour Freya walking across Hedderwick Farm to Tyninghame Bay this afternoon. There were a few parsnips growing - not a crop, just very few random sprouts - and the children took great delight in finding them. Katie carried her prize parsnip half the walk before abandoning it for a big mouldy log... Which she carried to the John Muir playpark where she abandoned it - very sensible.

It was fantastic to see The first gannets of 2014 in Tyninghame Bay! It was a lovely scene, and I initially thought absently there were quite a lot of gulls over the high tide - then one turned and dived (dove?) into the water. Gannets! It is officially summer. Never mind the clocks. Gannets. (Here's probably my best gannet.)

Later, south to London on the train before 6pm and I missed the opportunity to photograph one of the most stunning scenes I've witnessed - the full moon rising out of the sea over Lindisfarne huge and pink and astonishing. I was particularly kicking myself since as we left Berwick I actually said to the dour couple next to me, "Have you noticed the moon? I think it might rise over Lindisfarne" - and about 30 seconds later it did. WHY didn't I have the camera ready? Alnmouth has provided me a 2nd chance from the train before, but by the time we got there this evening, the moon was behind a cloud. Damn. Still, a beautiful thing to have seen. Didn't impress the dour couple at all though. Miserable so-and-sos. I expect they'd upgraded on Weekend First (he said bitchily) ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.