An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Mad Ducks...and Englishmen!

....Go out into the full moonlight, at Midnight.

My favourite weeping willow tree, this time with the backdrop of the floodlit Salisbury Cathedral Spire - and yes, the full moon.

Mad, flapping and horny ducks took off from the river - and landed again, often whizzing past mere feet from me - and my camera. I had to "duck", several times...

Feeling somewhat up-tight last evening, I checked the weather forecast online for the next few days. It looked as if cloud was going to be rolling in almost immediately and would be with us for at least four days, thus obliterating my full moon captures.

My favourite bits are the soft moving fronds of the willow, contrasting with the sharp, still ones - go in LARGE! for this - and for some stars too.

The Cathedral floodlights were still on when I finally packed up at 12.45 a.m. I have pulled up the leaning Spire a fair bit, but not entirely - that would look odd and require losing quite a lot of the entire left hand side - the 10mm lens' upward distortion having really made it lean inwards at a crazy angle.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm. Exposure is one and a half minutes.

Please also take a look at yesterday's architectural reflection Blip, which only went up a few hours prior to this one being taken.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.