... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Hoverfly on Hyacinth

Larger than life ("L").

I had a nice macro session in the garden this afternoon: the light was beautiful, and the birds were all singing very cheerfully. I photographed flowers and insects: I've been after a good bumblebee shot and got close today, but decided that I couldn't resist this hoverfly on the hyacinth...

I say close: the bee that I photographed was large and hairy, but wasn't a bumblebee (a member of genus Bombus)... It was a hairy-footed flower-bee (Anthophora plumipes; you can tell by the blond quiff and long hairs on the tarsi of their middle legs).

I've put up some alternatives, included the bee:
Hairy-footed flower bee (= blip alternative: I love the patterns in its eye!)
Pansy: whole flower
Pansy: close up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.