CarmenC

By CarmenC

Handmade Indian Silk rug

I bought this Rug in Hyderabad on Friday. I went into a handicraft shop with no real intention to buy anything, and on the Rugs floor I nearly didn't. However this rug stood out from the rest as it has such an intricate design and quite different from some of the others with their more traditional "persian" style designs.

It's handwoven in pure silk, and would have taken about 6 months to make. Initially the seller was asking 140,000 Indian Rupees but I managed to get him down to 120,000, he wouldn't go as far as 100,000...LOL. 120,000 INR is approximately £120. To me it's a lot to spend on this sort of thing still as I never buy stuff like this, living in rented accommodation isn't really an incentive to buy nice things.

However I absolutely love this rug. It's now next to my bed and feels divine under foot, so soft and I marvel at the design intricacies, and well £120 is so little to pay for 6 months handiwork! Plus a carpet like this in silk would cost a lot more to buy here in the UK.

I wish I'd bought more now...Ha ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.