Inverculain

By Inverculain

Land Girls

I went out for lunch with my aunt today, and afterwards we went for a drive in the country. We spotted a sign for The Women's Land Army Scotland Memorial. Neither of us had seen it before, so we drove up through Clochan and found it in a location with a great view but totally exposed - we spent a very windswept and chilly few minutes admiring it!

When I was looking for a link with information on the Land Army, I kept seeing references to the women's "volunteer spirit" and how they took their assigned hard labour (including rat-catching, apparently!) with cheer and good humour. And as you can see, the artist has captured that brilliantly! (It's worth looking at the large version to really see the expressions on their faces.)

For anyone interested in finding out more about the Land Army, I found a collection of first-hand accounts here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.