Fuffit, Poke Pudding, Bum Barrel, Hedge Mumruffin,

Jack-in-a-bottle, Bum Towel , Prinpriddle, Feather Poke, Long-tailed Mag and Millithrum (Miller’s Thumb) are all names for the long-tailed tit.

The pair that are nesting in one of our disused glasshouses are still building. I check them out every day when the afternoon light is right. I've photographed them with beaks full of moss, lichen, spider silk, string, feathers, bark and other fibres.

I noticed one flying into the glass the other day and thought that it might be attacking its reflection but it was actually catching insects. I'm hoping to get a pic of the nest eventually.

The pair of grey-wagtails were back yesterday. I hope they decide to stay.

Instead of soup I made colcannon for lunch in honour of St Patrick. :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.