Journey Through Time

By Sue

Indonesia not Ireland

I will thank that sweetest girl in all of Indonesia, Esta, of Live and Love Your Life for this belated birthday present she sent me. And the card is of her own photo and design and there is also a key chain. What a sweetie!! Thank you so much, my dear. And as soon as I can find something that doesn't break the bank in postage, you will have a present too. Blippers are the BEST!

Another country is in the spotlight today. Ireland! Speaking of family history, as I was yesterday, my sweet baboo, Bill has a bit of the Old Sod of Ireland running through his veins. When I was digging around in his family tree, I was tickled green when I received the information arrived to tell me that his great-great grandfather, Michael Collins, b September 1822 sailed for Canada out of Galway, Ireland. That is near County Clare, and that is where his obituary said he was born. Then he went to the Upper Ontario of Canada and married Miss Mary Blake, also from Ireland. They were industrious people and he had a brick making business in Canada. Then they moved to Sauke Center, Minnesota in 1870 and in 1882 they moved to Grand Forks, North Dakota. They were the parents of thirteen children, ten sons and three daughters. All are accounted for except for one son. If you know of him, let me know! In 1896, when Michael Collins died, there were only 5 living children.

A couple of his sons had a thriving business in Grand Forks with machinery and farm equipment. They had a large building in downtown Grand Forks and it was the Collins Building but when the Red River flooded and then the fires started much of downtown Grand Forks was devastated, and that building along with a lot of the town, sadly, was destroyed.

The rest of Bill's family tree is Scottish, Danish and German. His American family tree is just a youngster, as most of his people came in the mid to late 1800's.

Off to watch people dance. Have no idea why I like to watch it, but even Bill thinks it's fun. I'll dance around while I watch.

Thank you again, Esta. You are the cutest think under the Indonesian sun...like in your last blip. hee hee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.