samsticks

By samsticks

Christchurch

Gina generously gave me a lie in after my late night and got up at some unearthly hour with Miles.

I didn't feel too bad really, but was really dehydrated (and looking back at the photos from the early hours, it's not surprising... I was pretty sweaty after all that dancing!).

We had some baked eggs for breakfast (again organised and cooked by the newlyweds... amazing or what!? The day after their wedding!!?), and then set off. The rain had really set in over night and the roads were prone to flooding so we didn't want to risk it.

Our friend Kate was going on the same flight back to Melbourne with us, so got a ride in our rental car. The roads ended up being OK, so we made it to Christchurch with loads of time and decided to head in and take a look.

Gina and I hadn't been there since the earthquakes, and quite frankly, I was almost in tears. The centre of the city is unrecognisable compared to when we were last there 3 years ago. Miles was asleep and Gina wanted to join in, so Kate and I went for a wander in the rain. Not many blip opportunities because the I kept getting rain on my lens (weatherproof camera didn't care, but noone likes a blurry shot!).

The weather just added to the postapocaliptic feel, with so many buildings boarded up (like this blip), and others just... well... gone. I have nothing but pure admiration for the people of Christchurch, who just keep going through it all. The shopping mall made up of painted shipping containers is both ingenious and colourful, and really shows how life just carries on in the face of adversity.

We got back home after midnight and collapsed into bed... work tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.