Tuesday: Sunny

I was invited to a very moving event tonight.  I mentioned recently that I have been doing some work on a global initiative to prevent sexual violence in conflict.

In connection with that, I was invited tonight to the premiere of a documentary called 'Suncica' (or 'Sunny' in English).  It is very moving, obviously cheaply done, but what it sets out to do is capture the testimonies of victims of the Balkans War (or Homeland War, as it is called here).  Those being interviewed were principally women who described their experiences.  You can imagine that it wasn't an easy film to watch, and one thing that particularly struck me was the wide range of ages of women involved.

But, the best bit was that the women were in the audience and the standing ovation and the length of the applause when they came to the stage was incredible.  I am sorry I couldn't blip the event itself but it was pretty well-attended as you can see by the queue coming out of the door.  

400

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.