Snapdecisions

By HF1

St Augustine's Well or the Silver Well

This is a very special place , one of my favourite hidden corners ofDorset. It's in Cerne Abbas at the side of the abbey which is privately owned. It always reminds me of a similar one in Northumberland called Lady's Well , a few miles from Rothbury. I always try and see it in the Spring and as I had to go to Dorchester today,I called in on the way home. It was beautiful walking through the field by the abbey with lots of celandines.
I t really has a magical feel - there are always coloured ribbons tied to the once visited and asked some local shepherds if they would prefer beer or water to drink. when the shepherds replied 'water', he struck his staff in the ground crying " Cerno El" as the water gushed out. the words were a pun on the old name for the village and meant ' I perceive God. However , this legend was probably invented by local monks to encourage pilgrims. It's most likely connected to St Edwold who had a vision of refreshments in just such a place. It is also connected to St Catherine (there was a catherine wheel carved on one of the stones. )Girls were encouraged to go there . turn round 3 times and pray for a husband!

Whatever you believe , I like the final lines on the sign where the above infomation came from- ......'the well is a holy place, full of peace and quiet. Respect it, and take some of its peace with you into the busy world.'

I found it a really tricky place to photograph - I wanted to do it justice and capture its beauty - i think its one to return to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.