DaveWoolmer

By DaveWoolmer

Daffodil

Whilst mowing and raking the rear lawns on Saturday morning this daffodil - which had already fallen over due to a combination of it's height and the wind - decided to break off completely.

I was initially just going to put it straight in the garden waste as there are lots of others flowering around the garden, but instead decided to bring it into the house and put it in some water. And I'm very glad I did now, as it served perfectly as a standby blip - I am, in fact, surpirsed at how fresh it is looking despite it having broken off over 3 days ago now. I'm certainly not complaining though :)

I decided to shoot it layed down on one of my favourite photo accessories, my glass topped coffee table. It was lit with off camera flash, positioned at the same height and triggered by the D700's commander mode, resulting in the fantastic seperation and contrasty light which I think lends itself perfectly to the shot.

What's more, this shot is actually straight out of camera, with no post-processing at all. The only adjustments made to the initial raw file are the automatic lens/camera corrections applied by Lightroom after import. Completely unheard of for me!

So that's 2 flower blips in 3 days, the other being here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.