Water management

Yesterday evening the roofer-who-didn’t-turn-up-last-week turned up. He identified the missing slate. He identified a few more missing slates. Seemed to know his stuff. Seemed a nice bloke. I relaxed. All I have to do is wait for the quote, agree it and our wet bedroom ceiling problem will be fixed.

This morning at work my phone rang. ‘Mum, there’s water coming through the kitchen ceiling.’

Deep breath. The kitchen is under the bathroom, not under the leaky roof. This is a new problem.

‘Check there are no taps on upstairs, turn the stopcock off, I’m on my way.’

Thirteen minutes later I was in the kitchen watching globules of water drip through a huge yellow-grey damp smudge on the ceiling and phoning the plumber. He promised to call in on his way home from work.

And did. After dismantling the bathroom reassuringly tidily he identified the leaky connection and proposed a solution. He knows his stuff. And is such a nice bloke.

I am now chanting, ‘We did not get flooded, we did not get flooded, we…



The friend I was teaching with in the autumn has joined blipfoto. He’s been incognito for 12 days but he has now emerged so it would be great if you felt like welcoming him to our addiction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.