bgleyna

By bgleyna

Day by Day

Affliction

"Broken in pieces all asunder...
My thoughts are all a case of knives...
All my attendants are at strife...

Oh, help, my God! let not their plot
Kill them and me,
And also thee,
Who art my life: dissolve the knot,
As the sun scatters by his light
All the rebellions of the night.

Then shall those powers, which work for grief,
Enter thy pay,
And day by day
Labour thy praise and my relief;
With care and courage building me,
Till I reach heaven, and much more, thee.

- George Herbert

This poem is about the struggle with depression, but it ends on a victorious note as the poet calls out to God for help for the power of those negative thoughts and feelings be turned into praise to God and to building care and courage into his life.

Daniel knows what this struggle with depression feels like, but I like this blip of him as it shows the victory over it.
This was taken just prior to us all going into a Ladysmith Black Mumbaza and Johnny Clegg concert at the Bass Hall this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.