Come into the Garden

By aprecious

A day off and a daring rescue...

Today I went to Wales, home of my fore-fathers (and mothers). I played frisbees, helped aprecious and Snotty’s friend Di eat her birthday cake, and I went in the river.

I was swimming but not getting anywhere fast like one of those ever-lasting pools. And then the next thing I knew aprecious was wading in, in her wellies and pulling me into shallower waters. You’ll be pleased to know, and I am pleased to report, she got wet through.

But she felt very good about herself.

On the whole, I behaved impeccably!

A proper day off without any work after a very busy period putting in our funding bid for continued core funding from 2015-18. Still a few very busy weeks left before we go on a trip to Germany at Easter. Hopefully, by then things will have settled and I will be able to blip again.

We went to Dobelydr, a Landmark Property in North Wales, to see some pals (and family) of ours - one of whom is 60 this week. We had a lovely day and in spite of Maudulent’s little adventure in the river (not the one in the picture!), all was well. I think she would have been fine because it wasn’t deep down stream but she was trying to swim to us in a little weir-effect created by debris and was getting nowhere fast. It’s only when she’s in water that you realise how little she is. AND I didn’t get that wet - the water just went over the tops of my wellies a bit! (I can totally see how folk throw themselves into raging torrents to rescue animals, though - I don’t remember deciding to go and get Maud, just did it). The really funny thing was that she didn’t let go of her stick! In fact, it was a handy handle to pull her clear! And being a dog she instantly forgot about her moment in peril.

We have Black Roses showing at BYT today and tomorrow, a terrific piece written by Simon Armitage, with the lead taken by Julie Hesmondhalgh. Sophie Lancaster - I was desperate to get the piece to our place because it was a shocking thing - that Sophie was murdered in effect because she was a goth, and it happened in East Lancashire. I’ve had a few emails with Julie too - and she seems absolutely lovely so looking forward to meeting her too. (For those who don’t know Julie by name, she used to play Hayley Cropper in Corrie.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.