English Girl in Berlin

By EnglishRose

East Side Gallery

This morning I walked to Kreuzkollen and paid a visit to the Turkenmarkt (Turkish market) on the bank of the Landwehrkanal. After a delicious lunch of Gozleme from one of the stalls I walked back along the canal into Kreuzberg to check out some of the street art in the area, including the Blackjump Mural and the Floating Giants.

I then went to the East Side Gallery, a 1.3km stretch of the Berlin Wall along the River Spree covered in political and artistic murals by a number international of artists. After a busy day I relaxed with my book and a hot chocolate at Bateau Ivre.

This evening E and I went to Kimchi Princess for some delicious Korean food before completing the evening with some live music at Madame Claude, a bar designed as an upside down apartment located in a former brothel. We saw two acts – Ben Barritt and Alexey Kochetov – the second of which was the most incredible violinist playing a mixture of Balkan groove, oriental sound and upbeat instrumental music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.