JRS

By jrs

Hi it`s me "Woody"..

My patience has finally paid off, I knew there was a Woodpecker in the wood I often visit but they are extremely hard to get close to. To day I stood watching some of the more common birds when I suddenly noticed a head peeking round a tree at me, unfortunately in my excitement I moved to quickly and frightened it off. I must have waited about 10minutes and thought about moving on when I spotted it quite nearby, this time I stayed still and only moved very slowly, just as I was about to squeeze the button there was a sudden flash of colours and wings flapping, I was`nt quite sure what had happened and had a look over my camera only to see a second Woodpecker which had chased the first one off.. Both birds were male and the first one must have encroached on the others territory.. This is a Greater Spotted Woodpecker and its about the size of a Thrush /Starling not as big as most people expect..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.