Photos in A Major

By A

Volcanic vista

On our way back from San Carlos and on my way home. Leaving this morning at 9am, I'll be home 26 hrs later with a following wind!

Along the way some great scenery and the chance to meet a number of colleagues I haven't previously worked with. It's been a mixture of Brazilian, Venezuelan, US and me the token European.

Along the way I've invented a new language SpItalian. I'm not great at languages and my Spanish is quite poor, however I've noticed that the Spanish here is different from European, so I can drop Italian in and they still understand.

The one new phrase I learnt was Mucho Gusto, a greeting when you shake hands etc. So I can greet someone, order a beer and ask for directions to the bathroom. See almost fluent!

Finally I must say the funniest thing was chatting to a Brazilian colleague, who was speaking Portuguese and when I looked like I wasn't following, he just repeated in Portuguese, just louder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.