this luminous life.

By Laura

There Goes The Neighborhood.

Sheryl Crow.

I went outside late yesterday afternoon with the intent of completing the first blip assignment; however, none of my neighbors were outside, or stayed in view long enough for a photo. Therefore, I merely took a photo of my shadow and returned to Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? I attempted again this evening, and here is my result. It's a peek through the hedges at the Italians' house. They often have loud fights outside about anything, and it gets to be annoying sometimes. Gladys and Bill used to live here until Gladys had Alzheimer's. They had a lovely little dog.

To be honest, I'm not thrilled at all with this particular assignment. I realize I don't have to do it, but doing these assignments is what I consider a great way to be part of the community. The idea of assignments is wonderful; I may not like the specific ones from time to time. The reason I am not thrilled about this is because I simply don't like my neighborhood; nor do I talk to any one around here anymore aside from an occasional wave at John who lives next door (his wife died a few years back and we didn't find out until months later!).

I do not have too much to say about my neighborhood anymore. It's not the same as when I was a kid. Nothing is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.