Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

An encounter

"What are you doing taking all those photographs with that old camera?"

I'd spotted the guy earlier on while I was blipping a shop sign. He was carrying a bulky camera with a lens that would have caused me severe lens envy not so long ago. He'd just commented that the sign wasn't very interesting and that the window display was poor, after which he moved off. Now he was back, on a bike this time, and he stopped to pose that question.

"I suppose it's one of those Fuji X100's, is it?"
"Yes, that's right."
"I tried a Fuji, but didn't like it because it's got a lag. Not good for street photography which is what I like to do. My Nikon reacts instantly. Much better. I was half thinking of trying a Fuji XPro-1, but I hear that still has the lag problem."
"Well, I have to say I'm very happy with my X100."
"No. Really. You'd be much better off with a secondhand Leica 8. It's a pity I've put my gear away in the bag. Otherwise I'd take your photograph."
"Well. why don't I photograph YOU?"
"Well, okay, but hurry up."

DS lifts his x100, points it at yer man, gets focus immediately and clicks the shutter. Yer man doesn't even wait to check the shot on the screen, but just cycles off.

-------------------------
More from today's shoot are over on Flickr for anyone who's interested (including this one, which was almost today's blip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.