Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Feast of St Joseph

Unlike St Patrick's Day, St Joseph's Feast Day doesn't come with attendant partying.

On the other hand, most households will have some depiction of Joseph lying about, even if it is just an old Christmas card.

In my case, I have two different Nativity scenes so before leaving the house this morning I pulled the St Joseph figurines out of both of them and set them together on the floor to photograph. In retrospect, I should also have taken photographs of them separately. The larger one looks very striking and somewhat diminishes and is diminished by the smaller one. But hey ho, it's too late now.

Amongst other things, St Joseph is the patron saint of house buyers and sellers.

I remember once being told by a then Sheriff that if you were trying to sell your house you should bury a statue of St Joseph upside down in your garden and if you were hoping to buy a house, it should be buried the right way up!

I doubt this suggestion comes with Vatican approval :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.