jillington

By jillington

Future Farmers of America

I spent this evening judging essays for the District Leadership Event for the FFA. The topic, chosen by my fellow judges and me, was "Organic Agriculture supporters claim organic foods offer consumers a healthier food choice than conventionally grown agriculture commodities. What is your opinion?" Of the eleven essays submitted, three were outstanding so it was difficult to choose. Incidentally, of those three, two were anti-organic. The winner, because her arguments were the most persuasive and competently presented, was pro-organic. It was interesting to me, though, that I could easily tell which authors came from true farming households. They had strong, detailed opinions. With these kids in charge, I have confidence in the future of our food supply.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.