JMK

By JMK

Mirrored Beauty

I was going to go for a walk around my neighbourhood this afternoon and see what was happening but the cloud deceased and I thought it may start to rain.. but it hasn't!

I looked around my garden for inspiration.. my Fuchsia's are still looking good seeing we haven't had any frosts yet. This particularly one I grow from a cutting from my cousin. All I did was put it a jar of water and wanted until the roots started to grow and I could see new growth on the cutting then I planted in the garden. I only plant them out once all the frost have gone otherwise you just lose them.

You may have noticed this shot looks a bit odd .. it is because there is a old mirror in the garden and the back flower is a reflection. I didn't really notice that until I put it up on the screen and wondered why the petals had a haze around them. So went out and had another look at the plant.. sure enough it was a reflection.

The fuchsia was named after the botanist Leonhart Fuchs. It lends its name to the reddish-purple colour known as fuchsia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.