A Poison Tree, by William Blake

Lent, Day 14

I was angry with my friend:
I told my wrath, my wrath did end.
I was angry with my foe:
I told it not, my wrath did grow.

And I water'd it in fears,
Night and morning with my tears:
And I sunned it with smiles,
And with soft deceitful wiles.

And it grew both day and night,
Till it bore an apple bright.
And my foe beheld it shine,
And he knew that it was mine.

And into my garden stole,
When the night had veil'd the pole;
In the morning glad I see
My foe outstretch'd beneath the tree.


Well, it's a pomegranate, actually. Altered the colours a bit to make it look sickly, even if shiny.

Such a warning against stored up anger, which is unexpressed and allowed to fester! It doesn't go away, but grows and produces deadly fruit. Asking for the courage to be truthful in all my relationships, even if painful at times.

Into Birmingham with oldest daughter, to register Mum's death, then to funeral parlour, courtesy of a kind friend, as could no longer put off car's MOT. Sort of feels like life should take a breather while you adjust, but it certainly hasn't so far.

PS. Found my camera, and so have changed yesterday's photo. I am VERY grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.