Simplicity

A mild day of cloud and gusty wind, not really ideal for macro photography, particularly of flowers, but that's what I ended up attempting on my morning dog walk.

All the woodland flowers are coming into bloom - I even saw the first flowering bluebells today, on a sheltered south-facing slope. Still nearly a month earlier than last spring, and possibly the earliest in the twelve years I've been recording spring events for Nature's Calendar, the phenology scheme run by the Woodland Trust.So far wood anemones don't seem to be as prolific as last year, with generally fewer and smaller flowers. But I was pleased to find this one in a relatively sheltered spot, as I just love the simplicity and purity of this species.

This afternoon I went to town with Alex and Ben. Ben was looking for some new jeans, as he's slimmed down a bit and several pairs are now too large. Unfortunately we were unable to find any that matched his very exact requirements, so it looks as though we'll have to get some online. We also looked at walking boots for Alex, as he'll need some for trekking in Malaysia, but none of them were right either! We did find some rather nice cotton jumpers though, half-price, so at least our trip wasn't completely wasted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.